Contact & People

School of Health and Exercise Sciences
Faculty of Health and Social Development
University of British Columbia Okanagan
1147 Research Road
Kelowna, BC V1V 1V7
Canada

Role:
Departments:
Search Keyword:

Philip Ainslie | Professor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | philip.ainslie@ubc.ca | 250.807.8089

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: The specific focus of Ainslie's research is directed to the integrated mechanisms which regulate human cerebral blood flow in health and disease.
Gordon Binsted | Dean | Faculty of Health and Social Development, Office of the Provost and Vice-President, School of Health and Exercise Sciences | gordon.binsted@ubc.ca

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Dr. Binsted’s research interests focus on understanding of how the human brain detects and uses sensory information to control movement.
Leslie Bryant MacLean | Adjunct Professor | Human Kinetics | leslie.bryantmaclean@ubc.ca
Allyssa Costerton-Grant | Manager, Strategic Initiatives & Operations | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | allyssa.costerton-grant@ubc.ca | 250 807 8161 | Arts 331
Brian Dalton | Assistant Professor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | brian.dalton@ubc.ca | 250.807.9513 | ART 125

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Dr. Dalton’s research interests focus on understanding the sensorimotor control of the human nervous system using various models of study (neuromuscular fatigue, healthy adult aging, and traumatic brain injury.
Courses & Teaching: Dr. Dalton currently teaches HMKN 202 – Human Motor Behaviour I and HMKN 499 – Project in Human Kinetics.
Greg duManoir | Senior Instructor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | greg.dumanoir@ubc.ca | 250.807.9958 | Art 138
Courses & Teaching: HMKN 200: Exercise Physiology I HMKN 310: Exercise Physiology II HMKN 311: Exercise Prescription HMKN 312: Laboratory Techniques in Cardiorespiratory Physiology HMKN 391: Advanced Functional Anatomy HMKN 495K: Advanced Training Techniques HMKN 336: Tissue Injury & Repair
Neil Eves | Professor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | neil.eves@ubc.ca

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Eve's primary research interests are in the integrative aspects of pulmonary, cardiac and vascular physiology and how the cardiovascular and pulmonary systems can be manipulated to optimally improve the health of individuals with chronic respiratory disease.
Tanya Forneris | Senior Instructor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | tanya.forneris@ubc.ca | 250.807.9569
Research Interests: Forneris's interests centre on how to help youth learn to become successful contributing adults.
Courses & Teaching: Research Methods Community Programming Sport Psychology
Glen Foster | Associate Professor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | glen.foster@ubc.ca | 250.807.8224

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Foster's research aims to approach complex physiological problems using integrative and applied experimental approaches that focus on multiple systems in vivo.
Courses & Teaching: Dr. Foster currently teaches HMKN 414 – Advanced Circulatory Physiology, and supervises students in HMKN 499 and 449.
Rebecca Frechette | Placement Coordinator & Instructor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | rebecca.frechette@ubc.ca | 250.807.9565 | Art 337
Heather Gainforth | Assistant Professor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | heather.gainforth@ubc.ca | 250.807.9352 | Art 129

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Gainforth's research aims to close the gap between health behaviour change research and practice by examining knowledge translation – the act of moving research evidence into the hands of research users.
Courses & Teaching: Dr. Gainforth teaches HMKN 499 (Projects in Human Kinetics) and HMKN 421 (Advanced Theories of Health Behaviour Change).
Andrew Hughes | Adjunct Professor | Human Kinetics | andrew.hughes@ubc.ca
Jennifer Jakobi | Professor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | jennifer.jakobi@ubc.ca | 250.807.9884

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: The long term objective of Jakobi's research program is to develop prehabilitation programs that focus on maintaining functional independence in older adults.
Mary Jung | Associate Professor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | mary.jung@ubc.ca | 250.807.9670 | RHS 119

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Jung's major research area is self-regulation of health behaviours, with a specialization in exercise, physical activity, and dietary behaviours, and the creation of community-based self-regulatory skills interventions for individuals at risk or living with Type 2 Diabetes.
Jonathan Little | Associate Professor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | jonathan.little@ubc.ca | 250.807.9876 | RHS 122

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Little's research is focused on understanding how the metabolic disruptions that characterize type 2 diabetes affect cellular inflammation and explore how different exercise and nutritional strategies can be used to reduce inflammation and improve overall cardiometabolic health.
Chris Marriott | School Graduate Assistant | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | chris.marriott@ubc.ca
Kathleen Martin Ginis | Professor | Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Management, School of Health and Exercise Sciences | kathleen_martin.ginis@ubc.ca | 250.807.9187 | Reichwald Health Sciences Centre
Research Interests: Martin Ginis focuses on understanding and changing physical activity behaviour. I have a particular interest in physical activity among people with spinal cord injury and other types of physical disabilities.
Courses & Teaching: HMKN 201 Exercise Psychology
Ali McManus | Professor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | ali.mcmanus@ubc.ca | 250.807.8192

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: McManus's research focuses on the physiological consequences of sedentary behavior in children.
Courses & Teaching: Body Composition, Pediatric Exercise Physiology, and Graduate Statistics
Chris McNeil | Associate Professor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | chris.mcneil@ubc.ca | 250.807.9664 | Art 133

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: McNeil's program of research uses an integrative approach to investigate the performance and plasticity (adaptability) of the human neuromuscular system.
Courses & Teaching: HMKN 315 – Laboratory Techniques in Sensorimotor Neuroscience HMKN 415 – Muscle Fatigue
Colin Reid | Assistant Professor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | colin.reid@ubc.ca

Graduate student supervisor


John Sasso | Instructor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | jpsasso@mail.ubc.ca
Robert Shave | Professor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | rob.shave@ubc.ca | 250.807.9708

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Shave's work examines the acute and chronic effects of exercise and/or environmental stress upon the heart.
Michelle Smith | Adjunct Professor | Human Kinetics | michelle.smith@ubc.ca
Zoe Anne Soon | Senior Instructor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | zoeanne.soon@ubc.ca | 250.807.9400
John Steeves | Adjunct Professor | Human Kinetics | steeves@icord.org
Carli Tingstad | School Assistant | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | carli.tingstad@ubc.ca | 250.807.9904 | Art 331
Paul van Donkelaar | Associate Vice Principal, Research | Faculty of Health and Social Development, Research & Innovation Office (VPRI) | paul.vandonkelaar@ubc.ca | 250.807.8858 | FIP 320

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: van Donkelaar's research focuses on gaining a better understanding of traumatic brain injury (TBI) due to sports concussion or intimate partner violence.
Gina Whitaker | Lecturer | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | gina.whitaker@ubc.ca | 250 807-8078 | Arts 159
Courses & Teaching: HMKN 190 Anatomy & Physiology I HMKN 191 Anatomy & Physiology II HMKN 201 Exercise Psychology HMKN 322 Physical Activity & Health Promotion HMKN 331 Physical Dimensions of Aging
Sally Willis-Stewart | Senior Instructor | School of Health and Exercise Sciences | sally.willis-stewart@ubc.ca | 250.807.9684 | Arts 158